January 5, 1944

Dear Mrs. Whiting,

Many thanks for your very nice letter. It had to follow me to CENSORED so took a while to get here.

Well since last writing to you, as you know, Bert and I have been married, I do not know whether you were very surprised or not. I hope you didn’t feel bad about it. It all happened so quickly that I think we were all a bit dazed. The actual wedding I mean. Bert and I knew for some time just how he felt about one another, and had planned to get married someday. I know as his mother you must be worried quite a lot, but I assure you that there is not anything to be disturbed about. Neither of us are very young and I know what we feel about one another is a very genuine and lasting feeling. We are very happy in our married life and I guess that is the most important thing.

It certainly is summer here, and the day has been a very hot one. We went swimming on Sunday last and got rather badly sunburnt, so feel very sorry for ourselves. This town is the smallest of all the states and shopping here at the moment very difficult. Still one cannot grumble, we are so very fortunate in being as well off as we are. Meet rationing comes into force on January 8. 2 1/4 pounds per person per week. This hot weather i.e. a lot of salads so it will not worry me. All the Stonefruit, such as peaches plums apricots and nectarines are in full season. Grapes are beginning to be plentiful, so is passionfruit. The latter a great weakness of Bert’s, he devours them by the dozen. He certainly is looking much better than he was a few months ago, for which I am very grateful.

We have seen quite a lot of the surrounding parts of the city and find them quite beautiful, though Berst surf beaches cannot be compared with those in Western Australia. I think Sydney Harbour and the surrounding suburbs very beautiful, and would like to spend more time there sightseeing. Melbourne certainly gets a lot of rain. It seems to rain any old time there, and is very cold in the winter. Any high mountain districts they get a lot of snow in the winter months, and snow sports take lots of people up there. The mosquitoes and flies are bad here all through the summer and in some places you must have a net over your bed, or you would not get any sleep at all. I think we have most of the vegetables you have, but we do not can many as our ground does not freeze over. They can a great deal to send to the forces these days, but the average home does not bother other than making jam, pickles, and if you preserved fruits. My sister in the West has 3 acres of fruit trees and vegetables plots around the house so she does quite a bit of preserving, and has won many show prizes for it. Since living away from there I have sorely missed the homemade articles. Fruit is very dear now, owing to wartime conditions, which is a shame really as in a hot climate it is so necessary for one’s health. We ate quite a lot of watermelon last Sunday and it was very good.

Have you ever seen the sea, or have you taken your summer recreations at the Lakes always? In peace time we used to send a fortnight at the seaside every summer, traveling backward and forward to work each day. We would swim before breakfast and before tea, then after the stroll on the beach go fishing or visit CENSORED. We were a party of about a dozen girls, and we had lots of fun together.

Well this is all for this time, please write again soon, I look forward to hearing from you. I hope you and Mr. Whiting have the very best of New Year’s.

All best wishes from Flora Jean

20130122-183835.jpg

Tagged

2 thoughts on “January 5, 1944

  1. Thanks to “greatest generation” I have found your blog. I look forward to reading your parents letters and to getting caught up on what I missed. This is a special part of history and thank you for sharing it with us. Patty

  2. I look forward to reading your letters. I have a very similar project, posting the letters my grandparents wrote during World War II.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

